political snarkiness

Posted on August 13, 2009. Filed under: Politics | Tags: , , , |

Alright, so, here’s the deal.  Politics is a nasty, nasty subject to deal with, and this is mostly because the asshole, asinine, bipartisan hacks that flood the media have turned something that was already referred to as a circus into a complete free for all.

I am a democrat.  I am not a democrat because I’m in the right demographic, or the right age, or because it’s trendy and cool, or because I think all republicans are asshats (I only think that about some of them).  I’m a democrat because most of my ideas and personal opinions and ideologies swing slightly to the left.  It would probably be more responsible to call myself an independent.  Maybe for 2012.  The point is, I’m not a baby-killer, I’m not a bra-burner, I’m not an Obama-rama freaky groupie.  I’m me.  And I base the things that say and think and do on things that I have personally seen and experienced, not what people tell me I should be doing.  Because of this, some of the things I do and say and think come off as suspiciously right wing, to which I now add, get over it.

None of this has anything to do with my particular view, but is present only to serve as a disclaimer against any accusations about being against one party or other because of what else I have to say.

I’m not about to call someone unpatriotic or tell them to like everything about this country or get out.  This country was FOUNDED on dissent.  That’s why we have the bill of rights, so that we CAN disagree, so we can share different viewpoints, so we can discuss and maybe bring about change if change is what is needed.

HOWEVER.

To sit at home and bitch about how the world is going to hell and it’s the fault of everyone in Washington because they wouldn’t listen to YOU, and it’s the fault of everyone else sitting at home listening to the same stupid diatribes and likewise doing nothing, is just plain ridiculous.  People aren’t sheep due to apathy…they are apathetic due to a governmental system that has become more and more remote behind a facade of media mudslinging and spin alleys.  They aren’t wrong to not care.  They might be wrong to not notice why they don’t, but that’s beside the point.

If you’re not going to do anything to change the things that you feel need to be changed in any fucking way you want, be it campaigning yourself, working on a campaign for someone you agree with, staging rallies or protests, becoming a lobbyist, whatever, then don’t complain about it.  Don’t proclaim a personal war just to sit it out.  Step up or shut up, and stop wasting everyone’s time.

The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don’t do anything about it.
Albert Einstein

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

